Gun Possession Lawyer Adam M. Lustberg
While the Second Amendment of the United States Constitutional provides general protection for guns and weapons owners in the United States, and establishes a baseline, gun laws regulating possession, ownership and compliance are imposed by the states.
New Jersey has strict laws that regulate gun rights, who may own or possess weapons, what is required to own guns or possess weapons, what type of firearms are permitted, and under what activities and conditions they may be used. Failure to comply with these strict laws can leave an individual with serious criminal charges and possible prison time. If you have been accused or charged with a gun-related crime in New Jersey, you may be facing serious penalties that can affect the rest of your life. You will need the skill of an experienced New Jersey gun lawyer on your side.
Facing criminal prosecution in New Jersey is daunting and you will be facing a prosecutor who is actively working to convict you. The quality of your defense will be critical to your future. Adam M. Lustberg, a top-rated criminal defense attorney, has dedicated his career to the aggressive defense of those charged with crimes in New Jersey, so as to help ensure the best possible outcome. Whether that outcome is a dismissal or a plea deal to reduced charges, we are committed to your best possible legal defense when you are facing serious criminal charges.
Contact us today at (201) 880-5311 to schedule a no-cost consultation. We are here to help – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Weapons or firearms offenses fall under specific categories. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, you may be charged with one or multiple charges.
You may be charged with the unlawful possession of a weapon if you have been found with a weapon and you do not possess a permit to carry that weapon.
You may be charged with the unlawful possession of an illegal weapon if you have been found possessing specific firearms or weapons that are unlawful to possess in New Jersey.
You may be charged with certain persons not to have a weapon if you are a person who is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm or other weapon because of a previous conviction.
You may be charged with possessing a weapon for an unlawful purpose if you are found possessing a firearm or other weapon and you intend to use it in an unlawful manner.
You may be charged with possessing a firearm during the commission of a crime if you were found possessing a firearm while committing a CDS crime.
Depending on the situation, you may be facing multiple charges. The State of New Jersey takes gun-related charges very seriously and you may be facing significant penalties. At Lustberg Law Offices, our experienced gun lawyers will aggressively defend you while maximizing your chances for a favorable outcome.
Anyone intending to legally purchase or possess a firearm in the state of New Jersey, must first apply for a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card that allows them to purchase and obtain rifles and shotguns without a separate permit and to obtain a handgun with a purchase permit.
With a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card, or FPIC, you are entitled to possess a firearm at home or in a place of business that you own as well as transport a firearm from place to place provided it is locked in a container, bullets are removed from the magazine, and both are separated from the gun during transport. New Jersey requires an FPIC card and a carry-permit for those who want to carry a handgun.
If you have been found possessing a firearm and you do not have the required FPIC or permit, you can be charged with unlawful possession of weapons.You will need the help of a skilled gun law attorney in your corner. At Lustberg Law Offices, we can help.
We have years of experience in courts through NJ and NY and a proven track record of success in criminal cases.
Some individuals are prohibited from even seeking an FPIC or permit. Under NJ Rev Stat § 2C:58-3 (2019), no permits or FPICs will be issued to anyone who:
Furthermore, no FPIC or permit will be issued to anyone if it is not in the interest of the public health, safety, or welfare of the community.
If you are found in possession of a handgun without an FPIC and carry-permit, you may be charged with unlawful possession of a handgun, resulting in significant penalties including mandatory incarceration in New Jersey State Prison. At Lustberg Law Offices, our team of skilled gun possession attorneys can ensure that you get the best legal defense possible.
Learn Also About
Anyone who possesses a firearm or other weapon with the intention of committing a crime can face charges that range in severity from a fourth-degree crime to a second-degree crime, depending on the weapon and whether or not the weapon was used.
Furthermore, it is unlawful to possess any weapon with the intent to use it while committing a crime.
In New Jersey, weapons laws cover a broad range of weapons. NJ Rev Stat § 2C:39-5 governs the unlawful possession of a weapon, with various sections governing different types of firearms and weapons.
Penalties for basic weapons possession convictions, not including any secondary charges, including:
Being charged with a gun-related crime can be complicated and tough. It can also be very stressful. This is why it is important to seek the help of an experienced gun possession lawyer. A skilled lawyer will be able to help the defendant understand their rights and what steps they need to take next.
At Lustberg Law Offices, LLC, gun possession lawyer Adam M. Lustberg and his team of defense attorneys are ready to help.
To schedule a consultation, contact us at (201) 880-5311.
In many cases, a gun possession charge in New Jersey will be secondary to another criminal charge, resulting in more serious penalties. If a weapon or firearm is used in the commission of another crime, prison time and fines will be more substantial.
In New Jersey, there are specific individuals who are prohibited from possessing a firearm or ammunition. These include:
If you are a person who is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm or other weapon and you have been found in possession of a gun, you may be charged as a certain persons not to have weapons offense.
When you are facing a gun possession charge, it is critical that you get the help of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Lustberg Law Offices, we vigorously defend your rights to help avoid conviction or minimize its consequences if at all possible.
Call us at (201) 880-5311 to schedule a consultation.
A tenacious litigator who won’t back down. Prepared to challenge the evidence against you and will fight to protect your rights.
In addition to basic gun possession charges, New Jersey has implemented the Graves Act and the No Early Release Act that apply to convictions for firearms charges and crimes of violence involving firearms. Gun Law Attorney Adam M. Lustberg Explain The Graves Act
The Graves Act requires minimum mandatory jail time and a limitation on parole for most gun offenses. The Graves Act applies to the following:
The No Early Release Act, or NERA, requires that those who have been sentenced for certain violent crimes serve 85 percent of their term before they become eligible for parole. It further requires parole supervision for the first five years after release for any first-degree crimes and three years for any second-degree crimes. These will apply to any first or second-degree offenses, whether they involved the use of a weapon or not.
At Lustberg Law Offices, Adam M. Lustberg and his team of gun possession attorneys provide vigorous criminal defense for those who have been charged with gun possession in New Jersey. Gun possession charges are serious and can have a significant effect on your future. Let us help.